Ford Powerstroke 03-07 6.0L Discussion of 6.0 Liter Ford Powerstroke Turbo Diesels

6.0 egr delete questions

Old 10-23-2010, 11:58 AM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default 6.0 egr delete questions

Hay guys i am new to this page and had a few questions on my 2006 6.0 powerstroke my warranty is getting ready to go out and i was thinking about installing a egr delete on my truck should i do this or not and is there anything special i will need to to to the truck if i do install one. or is there somthing else i need to do first i have as of know MBRP 4" SS exhaust turbo back with cat delete and a airaid cold air intake and i would like to add a edge tuner to it also. Thanks

Old 10-23-2010, 12:23 PM
BOMBARDIER
Received 630 Likes on 510 Posts

Lets start this right, forget the Edge, get an SCT with custom tuning.

The EGR delete is a great idea. If you do it, you will get a check engine light. SCT will take care of that CEL, since the custom tunes have the EGR function turned off. Edge will not do that.

SCT tunes the transmission, Edge does not.

I'd look into a coolant filter from www.dieselsite.com it will catch all the sand from the block, and prevent the oil cooler from plugging.

Do you have gauges now? If not, save for some and get some good gauges. Despite what most people have, I would get Fuel pressure (most important gauge), pyro, engine coolant temp and oil coolant temp. I wouldn't bother with tranny temp unless you're towing a lot. Engine and coolant temps are great to monitor to tell you when your oil cooler is plugging. This is what leads to headgasket failure most of the time.

What EGR delete kits were you looking at? There has been a few good threads recently about delete setups, try reading into those.

Feel free to ask any questions, we're here to help.

Old 10-23-2010, 02:42 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts

Hey Mdub.